Lifelong Learning

3 free Hidden Gems in SLC

I’ve been in Salt Lake City, Utah for the past couple weeks and here are some of the places that I really enjoyed going to. They were all free and weren’t crowded, but my sister and I still had a wonderful time.

The Gilgal Sculpture Garden was really unique! A man did all of this in his backyard in the early 1900’s. Most all of  his sculptures are symbolic. He has stepping stones everywhere with scriptures. The had a little pamphlet that told the history and meaning to very sculpture and it really added to the experience.

img_5846img_5823img_5834img_5858img_5864img_5831

 

I LOVED going to the International Peace Gardens. Out of all three places we stayed here the longest. It was really fun guessing the flags, going to each country, and just relaxing. Truly a beautiful and peaceful place!

img_6057

 

img_5887
Ironically there is a lightning bolt hitting my picture of Greece. Zeus anyone??

img_6022img_5886

img_5956
Hanging around Vietnam

img_5932

img_5871
Just taking time to meditate, but I had no idea what to do with my hands!
img_5971
Budha and Gandhi
img_6013
My sister means the world to me! She was the perfect person to travel the “world” with me. 
img_5987
Quaint Sweden.
img_6001
The bush was not as inviting as it may look haha
IMG_6044.JPG
Au Revoir!

Third, is Liberty Park. Okay seriously though Liberty park is a blast! It is a mini amusement park, an aviary, there is a pond, a museum, and overall a great pace to hang out and go on a walk. There are aspect of the park that cost money, but it’s not very much. I posted about it last week and you check it out here. Lovely, lovely park.

 

BONUS

If you are looking for other free places I like to go walk around Temple Square, The Capitol Building, Memory Grove Park, Sugar House Park, or City Creek. All of these are great choice and have beautiful scenery.

 

There are also really great ideas feaured here: http://tipsforfamilytrips.com/utah/free-things-to-do-in-salt-lake-city/

Enjoy!!! Let me know how you like the places!

Untitled

 

 

One thought on “3 free Hidden Gems in SLC

Leave a comment